Profile - Prof. Dr. Brandenburg - Fraunhofer Institute

Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Brandenburg has been the inventor and driving force behind some of today’s most innovative digital audio technology, notably the audio compression format MPEG Audio Layer 3, more commonly known as MP3. These methods form the basis of today’s leading audio/video compression and distribution technologies.

He received a Dipl. Ing. degree from Erlangen University in Electrical Engineering (1980) as well as a Dipl. Math. degree in Mathematics (1982). In 1989 he obtained his Ph.D. from the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg in Electrical Engineering for his work on digital audio coding and perceptual measurement techniques. The research results of his dissertation are the basis of MPEG-1 Layer 3 (mp3), MPEG-2 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC) and most other modern audio compression schemes. During his time with AT&T Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, USA from 1989 to 1990 he was working on ASPEC and MPEG-1 Layer 3. In 1990 he returned to the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg to accomplish further research within the field of audio coding. In 1993 he became head of the Audio/Multimedia department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits in Erlangen.

Since 2000, Karlheinz Brandenburg is full professor at the Institute for Media Technology at Ilmenau Technical University. At the same time he is the director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT in Ilmenau. Karlheinz Brandenburg has memberships in different international standards committees. He is Fellow of the Audio Engineering Society (AES) and head of the AES Standards Committee working group SC-06-04 „Internet Audio Delivery Systems“. Prof. Brandenburg has been granted over 100 patents and more pending.

Karlheinz Brandenburg has received a number of awards including the AES silver medal award (1998), the German Internet Award NEO (2001) and the IEEE Engineering Excellence Award (2000). Together with two colleagues he received the German Future Award in 2000. In May 2004, he was honored with the »IEEE Masaru Ibuka Consumer Electronic Award« for major contributions to digital audio source coding.


(Source: Media in Transition 2007)